Summary : “Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She’d been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have…until he wasn’t beautiful anymore.

Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast, where we discover that there is a little beauty and a little beast in all of us.

As always, Amy Harmon didn’t disappoint me. She is so talented and her stories are beautiful. According to me, a good book is one making you feel something, travel, love and appreciate the time reading. When I love a book, I can’t wait to finish stuff and come back to it. It was my case with Making Faces. I loved it.

winking-4

What I loved about Making Faces? The context, it’s the first book I read on the attacks in 2001 and Irak war. You should know that when you open Making Faces you will feel so many feelings. I cried. I cried. I cried. I cried. I cried. I cried. Yeah, I’m quite sentimental and I can’t resist to my emotions. So, this book isn’t an exception, the tragedy explodes and it’s sad. I like the characters, – not specially the main characters – but for example Bailey (Fern’s cousin) is quite hilarious and special.

The topic is about beauty: intern and extern beauty, it was interesting and important to make a difference and we saw that in the book.

Amy Harmon is quite attached to religion, I felt it through my read. I’m not religious, and it’s important to be curious about religion and how people see the world through the religion. Fern is the daughter of a Pastor and this explain her culture, her state of mind. Ambrose is different, his tragedy imposes to him some questions about him and his life.

I love that this book is not simply about teenage love, but adult love about themselves and together. To conclude, thank you Amy Harmon, you made me cry. Again.

PS: The cover is absolutely gorgeous!


Published : January 22nd 2015

French Edition : Robert Laffont, collection R

Pages : 437 pages

Genre : Young Adult, romance, contemporary, New Adult, war

Price : 17,90 €

52bstars


Read little babies, x.

