Summary: “My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

An easy reading : short and good. I really appreciate the reading. At the beginning, this book reminds me Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. There are similarities but it’s different.

In this book, the chapters are really short : but it fits with Maddy’s personnality. Her point of view is special, kind, pure and simple. Its touching and surprising to enter in her intimacy. Because it’s so full of life and not at all. To explain, she is the kind of person who have a great imagination and the desire to live, and with her disease it’s really hard to reconcile. So she is full of life without really living her life.

It was interesting to notice that we learn more about her, pages after pages. More she discovers about the world more we discover about her personality. It’s almost sad to see her growing up, dicovering things at 18 when she had to when she was a child. Her disease is impressive but she is more and proves it.

Her character is really good. Her relationship with her mother and nurse Carla touched me. Don’t think this book is just about a boy, it’s more about love. Her love for her mother, her nurse and herself. Of course there’s a boy ! Handsome boy named Olly, but you must read to discover him.

winking-4

An other big point of this book, is the illustration. The husband of the author made all the illustrations in the book + the cover and it’s so beautiful ! I loved it, it makes the book complete and unique.

I recommend you this little beauty because it’s simply beautiful. If you’re not convinced yet, go check the movie trailer ( I. Can’t. Wait).


Published : April 6th 2016

French Edition : Bayard Jeunesse

Pages : 360 pages

Genre : Young Adult, romance, contemporary, sickness, fiction

Price : 16,90 €

4stars


Read little babies, x.

